Impressive line-up to lead the charge for ORICA-GreenEDGE

ORICA-GreenEDGE riders will return to the Santos Tour Down Under with their sights set on more success at the southern hemisphere’s largest cycling event.

The seven-man team roster announced today includes 2012 Santos Tour Down Under winner Simon Gerrans, a rider known for his tenacity in nail-biting finishes.

Gerrans won stage three of this year’s Tour de France and helped ORICA-GreenEDGE take out the team time trial on stage four.

He also triumphed in an epic battle up Willunga Hill at the 2013 Santos Tour Down Under, narrowly holding off Tom-Jelte Slagter to be crowned winner on Australia Day.

Minister for Tourism Leon Bignell said ORICA-GreenEDGE had consistently impressed since its 2011 launch in Adelaide.

“ORICA-GreenEDGE is a really popular group of riders that continue to impress on the UCI WorldTour,” Mr Bignell said.

“Seeing the team do so well at the 2013 Tour de France was a big thrill for Australian cycling fans.

“We know they’re eager to build on this success and there’s no better place to do that than on home soil and at the first major race of the season.”

South African Daryl Impey is the only non-Australian rider set to pull on the ORICA-GreenEDGE jersey at the Santos Tour Down Under.

The 29-year-old became the first African leader of the Tour de France in 2013 after finishing in the front group of 16 riders on stage six of the race.

ORICA-GreenEDGE Sport Director Matt White said “as an Australian team, this is an important race for us”.

“We always want to do well at the Tour Down Under. We have quite a strong team, and everyone is really motivated to bring home some good results in front of our Australian fans,” he said.

“We’re targeting stage wins and focused on the overall. We have a number of options to achieve our goals.

“We’re thrilled to have Mathew Hayman, a guy with so much experience in our team. He knows his way around the race and will be a big benefit for us.”

The ORICA-GreenEDGE team competing at the 2014 Santos Tour Down Under will be led by manager Matt White and includes riders Simon Clarke (Australia), Simon Gerrans (Australia), Matthew Goss (Australia), Matthew Hayman (Australia), Daryl Impey (South Africa), Michael Matthews (Australia) and Luke Durbridge (Australia).

The Santos Tour Down Under will be held in Adelaide and regional South Australia from 19-26 January 2014.

Visit for all event information.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Thanks to our Partners: